Bookstagram gems 

By

A handpicked reading list from your favorite bloggers

Usraat Fahmidah

Bookstagram has become the go-to destination for most readers seeking new books to explore. However, the downside is that the current reel-favoring algorithm only brings hyped books into one’s vicinity. This ultimately limits the diversity of book recommendations from popping up on your feed, and you end up missing out on the more eclectic reading options. Recognizing this gap, we have compiled a selection of books suggested by Bookstagrammers with diverse reading tastes for a much-needed shelf makeover. 

Starling House by Alix E Harrow

Recommended by @tigbooks

Starling House by Alix E Harrow is a gothic tale set in a small, secret-laden town, centered around the mysterious Starling House, a mansion shrouded in local legend. The story follows Opal, who is drawn to the house and its reclusive owner, Arthur Starling, and embarks on a journey within its walls in exchange for the funds needed for her brother’s education. This novel reimagines Beauty and the Beast in a modern Gothic fantasy setting, recommended for fans of VE Schwab and Naomi Novik. Praised for its vivid and eerie atmosphere, the narrative explores themes of home, love, and the deep-seated secrets of Starling House, offering a blend of thrilling mystery and emotional depth.” 

@tigbooks highly recommends this book, adding, “[the book is] a blend of magical realism and gothic horror with beautiful prose, nuanced sibling dynamic, and lovely bit of slow burn romance. Everything you could ever want in a book, really!”

Lie With Me by Philippe Besson, Molly Ringwald (Translator)

Recommended by @seigf.read

Lie With Me, a critically acclaimed French novel by Philippe Besson and beautifully translated into English by Molly Ringwald, explores the intimate affair between two teenage boys in 1984 France. Set against the backdrop of a small, declining rural town, the story delves into themes of love and identity, featuring a protagonist who struggles with a reserved lover. Often compared to “the French Brokeback Mountain,” the novel is noted for its emotional depth and subtle, haunting lyricism. Ringwald’s translation adds a notable dimension to this poignant tale, making it a compelling read for those interested in explorations of youthful romance and complex emotions.”

@seigf.read recommends this book because it is an “amazing piece of queer fiction that perfects the simplicity of a queer coming of age – doesn’t introduce too many new things but executes what it has beautifully.” 

Caught in a Bad Fauxmance by Elle Gonzalez Rose

Recommended by @chai_n_books 

Caught in a Bad Fauxmance by Elle Gonzalez Rose is an engaging contemporary romance novel. It follows the story of an aspiring artist who, in a twist of fate, pretends to date a long-standing enemy of his family. Their unexpected alliance is part of a clever plan to gather inside information that could potentially lead to the downfall of their family’s rivals. Set against a backdrop of rivalry and deception, the book humorously explores the unpredictable nature of fake romances and the complexity of familial conflicts.”

Recommended by @chai_n_books, Caught in a Bad Fauxmance stands out as one of their favorite recent reads!

Our Share of Night by Mariana Enríquez, Megan McDowell (Translator)

Recommended by @accordingtoalina

“A grieving father and son embark on a harrowing road trip to confront the demonic family legacy left by the mysterious death of the wife and mother. As the sinister Order seeks to ensnare the son, they must outrun a powerful clan across different eras, weaving a tale of family, the supernatural, and love’s complexities. Set against the backdrop of London in the 1960s to Argentina’s tumultuous history, “Our Share of Night explores destiny, escape, and the haunting impact of an occult-driven heritage.” 

@accordingtoalina’s top choice is Argentine author Mariana Enríquez’s first novel to be translated into English, Our Share of Night. “There’s just so much more to the book. It’s both a horror/fantasy book and a historical/family drama. Can’t recommend it enough.” 

Website | + posts

Tags

More from

Preserving Heritage in a Modern World

Lost in Language

Q/A with Golam Sohrab Dodul

Monument to Sustainability